Internet Warning – Business in China, Part II

This is a follow-up to my previous post about doing Business in China…

On Friday, January 22nd I was advised that www.SourceTheGlobe.com was blocked in Mainland China and around the world since I choose to host my website in Mainland China.  I was also advised that I could get the site unblocked by filling out two forms which I immediately completed.   After I submitted the two forms I was advised I could not host my website in Mainland China without an ICP license.   Unfortunately it was now 4pm on a Friday and I was advised that my site would have to wait til Monday to be possibly unblocked.

To get the site unblocked I had two options: 1) apply for an ICP license (applying for an ICP license I had two options which were to make an investment or get a friend who owned a corporation to apply for my ICP) or 2) Move my hosting service to Hong Kong.  I choose option two as it seemed to be an in control and a reasonable solution.  The next challenge, it would take 2 – 3 days to set up the new dedicated server in Hong Kong.  Luckily I was advised by a senior manager that they had a Hong Kong office and that they could inquire about moving my servers there.

I told them to start immediately on setting the dedicated server to Hong Kong.  www.7×24.cn ’s response was that it was the end of the day on Friday and would have to wait til Monday.  I expressed my concern with hospitality and urgency.   I told them that an internet based business must be online 24/7, 7 days a week with no downtime.  I expressed my gratitude and told them all their efforts would be appreciated.

Before I left I spent some more time reviewing my account with the technician at 7×24.cn and he mentioned that the site appears to be unblocked again and was back up.

That weekend I looked into Hong Kong dedicated servers and messaged a contact at Rackspace in Hong Kong about possible relocation of my Mainland servers to their dedicated sever in Hong Kong.  I received a quick response that it was possible at a minimum cost of $400 USD/month.  I immediately replied that as a new business that was bursting at the seams it was too costly and inquired about other options.  To date, I haven’t received a reply.

Monday morning the site was working and I was ecstatic, Monday afternoon the site was not and I was back to looking for a permanent solution not a quick fix.  www.SourceTheGlobe.com was again blocked and the IP Address was now black listed.  My Mainland server was down and the site was inaccessible around the globe.  I immediately followed up by calling my Mainland hosting company (www.7×24.cn) about their servers in Hong Kong.   That afternoon I stopped by their offices and concluded on a dedicated server package in Hong Kong that was 3600 RMB ($529 USD) for 3 months, $176 USD/month.   I requested they credit me for my unused portion of prepaid service and they agreed… luckily now I only had to pay 2300 RMB ($338 USD) for the next 3 months.

The next issue is that SourceTheGlobe.com would have to remain blocked and down til my HK server was set up.  I was advised that this would take 2 – 3 days to set up.  This was a big blow to my ego an attitude but decided to breathe and accept it as a part of life experiences and be thankfully that it was only down two days and the new Hong Kong dedicated server was up working nicely… Thanks to my Chongqing development team and Matthew Rudy for his assistance.

The conclusion today is that in Mainland China we can’t be in control of our destiny do to government control but we can be in control of our actions, attitudes and responses.  Without power-tripping or yelling, I was able to come to a greater solution and bond with my hosting company in Mainland China.  The manager and I discussed more on Mainland China, China Rising, growth, opportunities and challenges of doing business.  The manager was happy to share a little known secret that Mainland China supports Mainland China businesses around the globe, so I would not have to worry about my Hong Kong server speed and accessibility in Mainland China.  As well I would have the global power of Hong Kong.  It’s like a double whammy I hope… as everything in life only time will tell.  Peace, Love and happiness of course.

One thought on “Internet Warning – Business in China, Part II

  1. Hey jeff. Greatings from Vancouver. I am happy to hear you are well and I have enjoyed reading your posts. It sounds like you are taking the best route relocating your site to hk. I feel extremely blessed that I can put up a site without jumping through the hoops that you have.

    Keep your head up. Best of luck for a great 2010. Talk soon

    b.

    Like

Leave a Reply

