China Keqiao Textile Expo

I am writing about the China Keqiao International Textile, Fabrics, & Accessories Expo that ran from May 5 – 8th, 2010 in Keqiao, China which is located in Shaoxing, China which is known as the Textile City of China.  I arrived into Shaoxing via train from Shanghai on May 6th and attended the show on the 7th, when I got there I had to negotiate with a taxi to take me to Keqiao.  It was total Chaos and it was difficult to find a taxi to take me to Keqiao, finally one taxi had two other passengers going that way, so we agreed that I would pay him 50 RMB to take me to my hotel in Keqiao.

The organizer (Shanghai Gehua Exhibition) of the show and the Shaoxing Government provided a free 3 star hotel and transportation back to Shanghai on the 7th.  The hotel did not have A/C and it was warm so I slept with my window open the whole night as a cool breeze was refreshing.  But the mosquitoes were an issue so I decided it would be best to sleep with the window open but the blinds drawn.  Below is a picture of the driveway to the hotel:

New World Hotel – Keqiao, China Entrance Driveway

This was my fourth time at this show; previously I attended this show two times and exhibited another two times.  The organizer and government offer free transportation from Shanghai and hotel (4 star) to the show from May 5th through May 7th for all foreigners.  All foreigners means anyone holding a foreign passport who wants to attend.  I find that 95% of the foreigners they brought from Shanghai are just there for the experience and not industry professionals.   I also noticed that the hotel option was also downgraded as my current hotel was now a Chinese 3 star hotel.

On the 7th I was told to be downstairs at 8:30am for a bus ride to the expo from the hotel.  At 8:30am there was a handful of people on the bus, at 8:40am I was told the bus departure would be delayed til 9:30am.  At this point I decided it would be best to take a taxi to the show, so off to the busy rush hour to flag a taxi.  I finally arrived to the show at 9:00am, see below photos from the entrance:

Gala Entrance with balloons all over
Main building entrance

The entrance to registration area was busy with lots of people vying for the free promotional information, see below photo:

Promotional Counter – Everyone wants what is free

When I got to the front the show it was still not open and well I was standing around I noticed a group of students, so I asked that what they were doing at the show.  They expressed they were university students from Shaoxing visiting the show for interest.  They all wanted a picture with the foreigner, see below photo:

University students at the Expo

When the doors finally opened I noticed that some of the exhibitors still had not opened their booth right near the entrance, see below photo:

Early morning, booths not open

Inside the actual tradeshow it seemed smaller than previous shows; the quality of exhibitors has diminished.  I was told it was a challenge to find the exhibitors and that most who come to this show want lower priced suppliers.  I disagree as at the previous show I found a handful of great fashion and premium suppliers.  Beside the main hall of the show they had heavy industrial suppliers of equipment set up, see below photos:

Industrial Fabric Knitting Machinery
Industrial Knit Machinery

Inside the show they had a trending area in the middle of the hall, see below photos:

Trending Area
Fabrics China Creation Competition
Robotic Trends
Fabric Trends

A few booths had models to show off their fashions, see below photos:

Model showing off their new fashions
Model mannequins

At 1:30pm I needed to leave the show to catch a taxi back to the hotel where I could catch the bus back to Shanghai.  Upon leaving the main hall below is a photo of what I saw as I exited the show:

Expo Service Counter

Back in front of the hotel it seemed like the fashion industry was in full swing as trucks and workers kept on moving fabrics down the streets and into shops, see below photos:

Bulk Fabric Shops
Truck transportation
Human Transportation, how far did this guy travel?
Non-stop busyness

In closing I find the show is challenged with its identity and purpose.  It will need a complete over hall and re-branding to attract the right buyers, exhibitors and media attention.  The region of Zhejiang, Shaoxing and Keqiao is strong in the apparel industry and the show must demonstrate more of their strength to show that it has staying power and can compete and compliment against the larger Tier 1 and 2 cities such as Shanghai, Guangzhou and Beijing.

If you have any comments or feedback please leave below, thanks and happy textile sourcing.

31 thoughts on “China Keqiao Textile Expo

  1. your artical was interesting. i would love to visit the place and buy a few yards of 65%polyester 35%cotton fabric.Do they sell small quantities like 400 rolls and are the prizes flexible.Also do they write di directions in English.AM afraid to get lost if the center is very complex.please reply.

    Like

    1. You can visit anytime, if you need guidance let me know? 65% Polyester, 35% Cotton they have, what is the material? 400 rolls is not a small quantity, do you mean 400 meters? Prices depend on the item your looking for and the quantity your purchasing. They may not speak English. You can email me directly if you need more help.

      Like

  2. Nice to meet you sir, I found you are a really nice from your articals. From your artical I get that you do fabric business actually I do sale in a fabric manufactory. Our main products are kinds of jacquards such as window curtain, table cloth , cloth materia and so on. Our company located at yangxunqiao town not very far from keqiao about 20mins if you drive a car. If you have time please visit our company you are be very popular. THX

    Like

  3. Hello my name is Kate, I’m from Thailand I used to visited China before and now I’m running new business in Garment and nowk I’m seeking for China textile’s wholesales market, can you recommend? This Keqiao is the right place to go. It would be highly appreciated if you can suggest me.

    Thank you in advance.

    Best regards,
    Kate

    Like

    1. Hi Kate, In order to answer your questions properly, I require more information:

      1) Are you looking for products (Garments) or fabrics (Textiles)?
      2) What is your target market?
      3) What quantities are you looking to purchase?

      Like

  4. Hi, I’m running a bedsheet shop. I’m going to hangzhou in December. Is there any shop sells fabrics for bedsheet in small quantity, about 100-200mtrs in keqiao ?
    By the way, your reports is very useful, make me want to go there while in Hangzhou… thanks a lot.

    Like

  5. Thanks for your blog. I attend the October fair every year and agree with a lot of what you said. The organising company we go through puts us in the Jinchang New Century hotel, which is almost across the road from the exhibition center.

    Also, you should have caught the bus from Shanghai to Keqiao instead of Shaoxing. You wouldn’t have had any problems getting a cab from there

    I think that staying in Keqiao itself for any period of time is a challenge, as there is not a lot for a westerner to do there, and very few people speak English. I have found that even the hotel staff’s knowledge is very limited and most of the time I have to resort to my very bad Chinese to get what I want

    Like

  6. Greetings. This report is very useful indeed as I’m trying to do my homework before a one day run through Keqiao for finding new fabric sources. Do you know if there is a “one-stop shopping” location that has showrooms for all the manufacturers (instead of having to visit individual manufacturer locations? It’s hard to find this information so appreciate your reply. Warm regards, Holli

    Like

    1. Holli, Good to hear the blog is useful for you. There are many one-stop shopping locations in Keqiao, most of them have immediate inventory. But there are also trading/export companies who represent mills or act as wholesalers. If you plan on coming during the fair I can have your hotel, transportation, and meals covered from Shanghai. If you need any assistance, let me know? Happy sourcing

      Like

  7. Thanks for your prompt reply Jeffrey. I’ll be there in mid-March so will unfortunately miss the fair. That’s why I’m trying to be super efficient on my own. I’ll poke around fornthosenwholesalers you mention but then also check out the one-stop shops too since I’m still a small business. Cheers, Holli

    Like

  8. Hi Jeffrey, very interesting and useful to read your blog before we visit Keqio in May 2011 Fair. We actually want to find factory of workwear in keqio as it has many textile manufacturer. Can help to give any comment or advise where to find good workwear factory in Keqio ?

    Like

  9. I’m interested in knit sweaters fabric. The composition of acrylic/ polyester. Can someone of you know where to Keqiao there is a sector with knitting fabric?

    Like

  10. Hi Jeffrey, I am interested in silks, linens, cottons in small quantities maybe 60m. Do they sell these? Also, is there a map for the market so that I don’t have to spend all day walking around the whole market? Thanks

    Like

    1. Hi Georgie, My apologies for the delayed response. I haven’t seen allot of silk and linens in Keqiao, but there are fabric stock houses that sell by the meter. There are many markets, I am unaware of a map, best to go there during the Keqiao garment and textile expo which is May 6 – 8, this year. As a foreigner the local government will pay for your hotel expense.

      Like

  11. Hi .it was interesting to read your article .can I get t/c 90%polyester and 10% cotton ,110*76,45s*45s, 45″ width. Please tell me exact place in the market and how I can get there . I will be in shaoxing in march 2012 .thanks

    Like

    1. Dear Ms Kamau, Noted about your needs, Shaoxing and Keqiao have markets for T/C fabrics and products, but I am unable to give you exact addresses or locations. Good to go there during the Keqiao garment and textile expo which is May 6 – 8, this year.

      Like

  12. jeffrey, i have been attending the fair and doing business in the shaoxing area for many years. being one of north americas largest textile agencies, with 2 full time e3mployees there, i have found in the past year 2012, many suppliers of ladies knit textiles have become dishonest and are cheating both my agency and my customers. they are lying about yardage in the rolls, they are watering the fabric to make it heavier, making many mistakes, shipping late after even getting extentions and not standing behind their fabrics. they do not realize that the good times will disappear fast when customers get fed up with their garbage and that day is not that far unless they start being honorable. unfortunately complaints to the government by foreigners who contribute over 20 million american dollars a year to the chinese economy are ignored

    Like

    1. The industry is dishonest, sorry to let you know that 100% of the suppliers i have meet, lie to me, in my face, I need to catch them, then they will laugh like it is a game. It frustrates my Chinese employees who try to do an honest days work.

      In addition it sounds like the industry is in trouble, hence suppliers lying about yardage, watering fabric, making mistakes and continuously asking for extensions. Agree they do not understand that there business will dissolve in this manner, but I do not think they care. As the passion is lost, its all about making money today.

      I can assist from China with our expertise and hands on knowledge, let me know if you need any assistance as we work with some of the largest companies in North America.

      Like

      1. HI what can of services can you offer me. can you collect thousands of dollars of commissions that i am owed for selling fabric and for which the makers have been paid.

        can you find an honest lawyer in china who would not take the case just to steal my money and would legitimately try to collect my money, for which he would get 30% of. and i am owed by several companies over $ 100,000.00 by these cheaters.

        Like

  13. dear Jeffryliving,
    really helped, in a restless
    but I am still confused..
    how to easily way from shanghai to keqiao ..
    please explain to me ..
    thank you xxxx

    Like

  14. Dear Jeffery

    I intend to visit the keqiao fair this month to buy printed cotton/polycotton fabric .

    1) Would I need an interpreter at the fair or do the exhibitors have english speaking staff.

    2) I shall have an interpretor on the 23rd and 24th when i visit the market.The fair starts on 25th.Will it be fine to visit the market 2 days before the fair or will they be busy preparing for the fair!!

    Your blog is quite informative.Keep up the good work.Thank you.

    Like

    1. Noted about your visit, I can also help with purchasing and management on a regular basis as needed.

      1) Interpreter is always helpful and may represent your interests, where the exhibitor staff may not be fluent or available during your visit.

      2) You should have time before the fair, but knowing which market to go to can be a challenge as there are many that could take a month or longer to cover.

      Glad you like the blog, unfortunately I have been too busy to regularly update. Best of luck finding what you need if you need assistance, you can email me at jeffreyliving@gmail.com.

      Cheers, Jeffrey

      Like

  15. Hi Jeffrey
    I will be in china by January 2014 , can you help me find me cheapest diffirent textile which have immediate inventory.

    Thanks
    Jaime

    Like

  16. Hi Jeff, great you came up with your blog/information! Seems rather hard to find detailed information about this huge market. I guess I’ll fly over and have a look around some time in spring; being experienced in digging through other wholesale markets (especially Guangzhou fashion markets), I’m sure it’s going to be a stressful week 😉
    I’ll see that I add my experience to your blog once I’m back!

    Like

    1. Glad you like the blog/information, agree there is limited information online, as it is a challenge to document and record everything, especially on a free site. I try my best to share my expertise and experience, have a great trip. Hangzhou has amazing fashion markets if you are buying ready made garments.

      Like

Leave a Reply

