Spin Expo, September 2010

Where to start…  hum this a question I usually don’t ask but today and since the show it has been my reality… how many parts should be in this blog?  Part I, Part II, Part III, etc… These days it is starting to feel like I don’t have enough time so unfortunately I will not be able to share everything with you.  If you would like an in-depth overview or have a specific product or business need you can contact me directly.

This post is about the Spin Expo that was held at the Pudong Expo in Shanghai from September 7th through 9th, 2010.  As last year’s expo was my highlight trade fair, I was excited about the show and wanted to be there early for the opening day but was delayed until noon time.  It was a beautiful and extremely hot (35c+) Shanghai summer day.  Upon arrival I noticed tents on both sides of the expo and a sign pointing to the direction of the entry.

Pudong Expo and registration sign

I then walked stage right til the next tent but I was advised that was not the entrance and I was told to continue around the corner til I got to the registration which was outside in the heat.   It was sweltering hot and everyone around was sweating, including me.

Form registration
Badge collection, ID verification

After getting my badge I quickly proceeded to the tent for a quick glimpse of what was in store.  Upon entry I was quickly stopped by a hulking security guard who didn’t like my badge placement, he requested that I move it from my bag to my neck.  I was not quick enough to jump and he was getting angry by the second, when I finally moved it, he looked at me like I was lucky he let me in.

Now past the hulking security guard I could proceed into fantasy land.  The room was full of developments, swatches, and stories which was a great delight to see.

Fabric trends
Fabric Trends
Hanging Fabric Trends
Accessories Developments by Carruthers Associates
Accessories Developments by Carruthers Associates
Developments by Sophie Stellar
Developments by Sophie Stellar
Developments by Sophie Stellar
Knitwear Development with metal string
Developments by Sophie Stellar
Developments by Sophie Stellar
Developments by Sophie Stellar

The first day I spent the whole afternoon on the ground floor in lah lah land and chatted with product developers, trending companies, exhibitors and attendees about all the excitement and joy, then before I knew it the show was over…. Thankfully only for the day, the next morning I made sure I was back at the show earlier as I still had allot to see.

On the second day I went back to the inspiration floor for another look at what I possible missed and then I was off to the 2nd and 3rd floors.  On the second floor there were great inspirations and suppliers to be found, see below images of products.

knit developments – cotton
knit developments – cotton
knit developments – cotton
Knit developments – super wash wool
Knit developments – cashmere
Knit developments cashmere with sequins and beads
The mop look – cashmere
Gradient – acrylic, wool, poly
knit developments – mercerized wool, metallic

On the third floor the heat was on as the air conditioning units were not working well and many people were complaining and sweat talking or walking.  On the positive side the show vibe was incredible; many suppliers had taking the lead and highlighted their own product, fabric and color trends and invested more dollars into their branding (Corporate, Booth) and execution.   Then there were other suppliers who went half way and then forget about what they were doing so they were not as well represented.  Those booths that went the distance had a constant buzz and attention throughout the show.   See images from the show floor:

Supplier Trends
Kint Developments – Acrylic, Alpaca
Bubble developments
Pima Cotton, Top Wool
Superfine Merino Wool, Cashmere
Extra Fine Merino Wool
Fine Merino Wool, Low Piling Acrylic
Extra Fine Merino Wool, Bamboo
Knit Developments
Knit Developments
Knitwear Developments
Knitwear Developments – Warp
Wool, Acrylic
Wool, Polyester
Supplier Trends
Supplier Trends
Supplier Trends
Exhibitor LOve
Exhibitor LOve
Models on the floor

All in all this is one of the best fairs to attend in Asia and most likely the world.  If you are the business of knitwear make sure you don’t miss this show.  If you can’t attend make sure you have someone on the ground looking out for your needs and wants. On my first day at the show I was lucky enough to have had the opportunity to chat with the founder of the show and her passion and intelligence exudes out of her every word.  She is a talented woman who has a great team; I look forward to working with her in the near future.

Always the best and happy knitwear sourcing from Shanghai, China.

Jeffrey

4 thoughts on “Spin Expo, September 2010

  1. Hello fantastic blog! Does running a blog like this take a lot off work?
    I have very little expertise in programming but I had been hoping to start
    my ownn blog soon. Anyways, if you have any recommendations or techniques for new blog owners
    please share. I know this is off subjeht nevettheless
    I just wantted to ask. Thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

