“Life without Communication”

Last week my mother turned 71, and I was reminded of the importance of life and communication.

The many challenges I have experienced, the many challenges I have witnessed my mother experience, my family, my friends, my colleagues, and the world that surrounds me.

My mother now aged 71, diagnosed with early stage dementia in 1997 at age 54.

Mom:

For the first 18 years you taught me all the basics in life, how to talk, walk, how to eat, how to go to the washroom, how to get dressed, ethics, values, responsibility, and how to love.  Now for the last 17 years I have watched Dementia take away your ability to communicate, control your bladder, get dressed, eat, walk, plan and live a life of happiness and freedom.

Me:

I always give 110% and do my best to help out. I am very generous, hospitable, and genuine.  I am sincere with my intent, I like to make people happy, laugh and see their dreams come true.

For decades, I have pursued my imagination, created success stories and I am always learning from my failures.  In this competitive world I am happy that I have been able share my passion, knowledge, wisdom and leadership throughout the product and people processes.  I continue to share my analytical abilities, my passion for collaboration, product, systems, and helping others reduce their headaches, heartaches, well improving ROI, value and the experience.

Life and communication:

Never in the whole world have we had some many forms of Communication; yet we remain on an island. There is little real communication between the member’s in one’s family, between the individual in society, and between nations.

We have not cultivated the art of listening and speaking. We have to learn ways to communicate again. When we cannot communicate, we get sick, and as our sickness worsen, our suffering spills into other innocent people.

“Years ago, I tried to top everybody, but I don’t anymore. I realized it was killing conversation. When you’re always trying for a topper you aren’t really listening.  It ruins communication.” – Groucho Marx

“We have two ears and one mouth so that we can listen twice as much as we speak.” – Epictetus

“The most important thing in communication is hearing what isn’t said.” – Peter Drucker

The percept admonishes us not to lie, not to say things that destroy friendships and relationships, but to use wholesome loving speech.  Mindful speaking can bring real happiness, and unmindful speech can kill.  Admire of the suffering caused by unmindful speech and the inability to listen to others.

I vow to cultivate loving speech and deep listening in order to bring joy and happiness to others and relieve others of their suffering.  Knowing that words can create happiness or suffering.   I vow to learn to speak truthfully. With words that inspire self-confidence, joy, and hope.  I am determined not to spread news that I do not know to be the certain and not to criticize or condemn things of which I am not sure.

Everyone you meet is fighting a battle you know nothing about. Be kind, always.

happiness

One thought on ““Life without Communication”

Leave a Reply

